Odisha signs MoU to set up 4 more software technology centres

The number of software technology centres in Odisha is set to increase to eight with the state government, on Saturday, signing an MoU with Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) for setting up facilities at four more places.

The agreement was signed to set up STPI centres at Angul, Jajpur, Jeypore in Koraput and Sambalpur, an official release said. “The proposed STPI centres would act as resource centres for IT, ITES and ESDM sector by offering general infrastructural facilities like ready to use Incubation Hi-Speed Data connectivity and other amenities required export of software and services,” Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said.

The incubation facility will be available for entrepreneurs, specially catering to the need of start-ups, MSMEs, SMEs to kick start their business without any hassles, Patnaik said adding the construction works for the proposed STPI centres will commence soon. According to the provision of the agreement, the state government would provide three acres of developed land and minimum 20,000 sq ft built-up space for each centre.

The state presently has four STPI centres at Rourkela, Bhubaneswar, Berhampur and Balasore. Following the setting up of the four new centres, Odisha would have the highest number of them in the country. The STPI centre here has exported software products of Rs 2900 crore in the 2015-16 fiscal.